What are the main branches of christianity

Christianity can be taxonomically divided into five main groups: the Church of the East, Oriental Orthodoxy, Eastern Orthodoxy. A Very Brief Overview of the Three Main Branches of Christianity Catholicism, Eastern Orthodox, Protestantism Catholicism Also called Roman. The Orthodox Church is very mystical and believes that the main goal of the Christian life is to come into communion with God, requiring purification of the soul.

From the divisions three great branches of Christianity developped: Orthodox, Catholic and Protestant. In the East-West schism separated the Orthodox. Nick Strobel's notes on “The Soul of Christianity” by Huston Smith. Page 1 of 5. III: The Three Main Branches of Christianity Today. In this last chapter of The Soul. Nearly all Christian denominations have their roots in the The next major division was the Protestant Reformation, sparked in by Martin.

Since that time of unity and simplicity, Christianity has separated into various branches. Today, most scholars identify three major branches of Christianity. Who Are Christians? An Overview of the Main Branches, Churches, Denominations, Religious Orders, and other identifiable Groups within Christianity of the. Christianity The Three Branches of - Originated from the efforts of Leo I () and Gregory 1 () to merge the early churches.